Kitchen Sink Smoothie

If you’ve been over to my house for breakfast (lucky you!) I have probably made you a smoothie. We’re not talking your run-of-the-mill banana yogurt concoction. The various kinds of smoothie I make involve any and everything on hand and are for the culinary adventurer only.

Fruit? Check. Vegetables? Check. Yogurt? Check. Chia seeds? Check.

I am of the opinion that the more you throw in the blender the healthier it will be. Seriously, anything can go into that machine and after 45 seconds of turbine magic will pour out delicious. The beauty of the Kitchen Sink Smoothie is that it is essentially a non-recipe. The ingredients for my smoothie are listed below, but I encourage you to try out whatever you have on hand. And then report back to me so that I can test and blog about your culinary creations.

Kitchen Sink SmoothieKitchen Sink Smoothie

  • Spinach (or kale)
  • Beets (cooked and peeled)
  • Cucumber (or celery)
  • Banana (or mango)
  • Strawberries (berries of any sort)
  • Ginger (grated but powder is cool too)
  • Maple Syrup (agave or honey work)
  • Milk (cow, soy, almond, rice, quinoa, etc)

Locate produce in your kitchen that must be consumed. Stuff into your blender and blend until smooth. Drink until satisfied. Prepare for excess amounts of energy and go for a run!

